Weidman bothered by Bisping’s “Scumbag Move”

Posted: December 14, 2012 in Commentary/Opinion, Latest news
Tags: ,

We’re not the only ones who think Michael Bisping is a turn off. He tends to get under everyone’s skin, and now he’s done so with middleweight contender Chris Weidman. It was just a couple weeks ago that The Count appeared on MMA Uncensored Live and decided to rip Weidman on the show. This week, Weidman got to respond.

To get you caught up, Bisping originally pulled the “I don’t know him” routine with Weidman. He went on to speak negatively about his credentials. “I never knew who he was. He had a fight against Demian Maia,” Bisping said. “It was in my locker room when I was warming up for Chael Sonnen, I had to turn it off. I was trying to get excited for the fight and it was like watching bloody paint dry. What was his next fight? An out of shape Mark Munoz. You know, he elbowed some guy and put him to sleep. That looked good, but other than that I don’t know who Chris Weidman is.”

Weidman didn’t like that at all. He answered Bisping’s criticism on the same show this week, calling Bisping a scumbag. “I got to meet him in that boring fight I had against Demian Maia—which I took on 10-days notice and had to cut 32 pounds in 10 days and he was there when I’m cutting weight and seen what I actually went through—and for him to come out and discredit me like that, a little bit of a scumbag move.”

I’m never shy about my criticism of Bisping’s…personality, so Weidman’s point of view isn’t lost on me. I’m sure there’s some element of wanting to create hype, but overall it’s hard not to take offense to Bisping’s words. Facts are facts. Weidman has defeated more legitimate contenders this year than Bisping has in his entire career. Dismissing them is a douche move for sure.

Leave a Reply

