JDS not impressed with Cain’s knee excuse: “I hit him in the head”

Posted: December 29, 2012 in Commentary/Opinion

junior_dos_santosA lot was made a few weeks ago of Cain’s injured knee prior to Cain vs. JDS I, when a video surfaced of him injuring it in practice a few weeks before the fight. That said, it should be said that Cain himself felt “betrayed” by it’s release, and played no part in it’s release. Anyway, I thought this was odd because A. why wasn’t the video released before and B. was anyone really doubting the injury in the first place? And besides all of that, JDS also injured his knee prior to their first fight too, but nobody said boo about that. So I guess what I’m trying to say is, I can see why JDS is getting a little sick and tired of hearing Cain’s excuse over and over again.

JDS on Cain’s injury:

“I don’t know why people are saying that,” said dos Santos. “Because the injury was the knee and I hit him in the head. it doesn’t matter if his knee was good or not. If I punch him in the head again, he’s gonna go down again. I really believe that. I don’t know why people are saying that. I was hurt too with a knee injury too. I just enjoyed the better moment, and at that time I was just better than him. That’s it. I won the fight.”

Courtesy of MixedMartialArts.com

Although I don’t agree that “it doesn’t matter if his knee was good or not,” as the injury probably affected Cain’s aggression/gameplan, I do agree with JDS in that “if i punch him in the head again, he’s gonna go down again.” Knee injury or not, the fact remains that JDS took Cain out in just over a minute and that power remains to this very day. And remember, that overhand right wasn’t even a clean shot.And more important, not only does JDS still have knock out power, he also has amazing takedown defense. I can’t find the exact statistic here, but I read last week that Dos Santos has spend the 3rd least amount of time on his back in UFC history. That’s not a fluke. And I expect that trend to continue tonight.

My prediction, Cain will come out with more pressure, and may even get a clinch against the cage or two, but I think he’ll have a hard time tracking JDS down and I think the champ will find his chin once again. Maybe not in a minute like last time, but under 2 rounds. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Comments
  1. B says:

    You were wrong,bitch

Leave a Reply

