Cerrone blasts teammate Jones, says “I’d have fought” at UFC 151

Posted: January 2, 2013 in Commentary/Opinion

donald_cerrone_2Damn, talk about pulling off a scab. 4 months after the fact, Donald “Cowboy” Cerrone was asked about Jones’ pulling out (no jokes please) at UFC 151, and insisted that he would have fought because “that’s our job.”

“Yes, I’d have fought…They could call me tomorrow and ask me to fight. I think you need to fight. That’s our job. I don’t think you should curl up and find a way out. So yes, that’s my answer.”

“He’s my teammate, and we have this discussion all the time…I said, ‘You should’ve done it.’ And he goes, ‘Well, you don’t make a million (dollars) to fight.’ And I said, ‘Well, you’re right, but I f—ing fight every time with all my heart.'”

Transcribed by Bloody Elbow.

This of course is in reference to the Jones vs. Henderson fight back in September that was cancelled during the 11th hour, and consequently Jones’ not agreeing to fight Chael Sonnen as a last minute replacement.

A few things…as I already posted, I still think Jones’ is taking way too much blame for what happened at UFC 151. So goes the brakes, eh? Also, why in the hell is this being brought up again? Slow news day? And as much as I like Cerrone as a fighter and personality, I agree with Jones. Never one to be eloquent with words, Jones does have a point. He not only makes a lot of money, he also has a lot more at stake. As the saying goes, “it’s a lot easier to spend other people’s money.” And let’s also keep in mind it was Jones’ coach, who also happens to be Cerrone’s coach, who took the blame for “the decision.”

Too bad Cerrone and Jones aren’t in the same weight class…we could of had another Jones vs. Evans.

Leave a Reply

