Guess who’s ripping Steve Mazzagatti again? Yep!

Posted: January 31, 2013 in Commentary/Opinion, UFC Events
Tags: ,

mazzDana White’s favorite pastime might be lambasting Steve Mazzagatti. He hates that guy. So what happens when somebody asks White about the fact that Mazzagatti will be officiating the Jose Aldo vs. Frankie Edgar “superfight” this weekend? I think you can guess. Fireworks ensue.

“I could go off for 45 minutes on officiating over [in Nevada],” White said in his normal animated way to 5th Round. “Steve Mazzagatti is the ref reffing the superfight. What more can I do?” He wasn’t asking anyone in particular, but he did mimic blowing his brains out with a finger-to-the-head gesture…you know, for added effect.

He then repeated, “Mazzagatti is reffing the superfight. What more needs to be said than that? I can’t do anything. As a promoter, I can’t do anything…I can tell you this, if I was a fighter, the last thing I would want to see when I got in the cage is Mazzagatti. That’s the last thing I would want to see.”

Dana’s rants about Mazzagatti are becoming legendary. The Maz is definitely White’s “slowly I turn” trigger. While it’s pretty funny to hear these outbursts on a regular basis, is he really that bad? I’ve seen other refs blow it inside the octagon recently too. And to be quite honest, if I was a fighter, the last thing I would want to see inside the cage isn’t Mazzagatti at all. It would probably be a creepy circus clown holding a severed head. Well, that and Kim Winslow.

Leave a Reply

