One Round Classic — Get ready for UFC 158 and Re-Watch Nick Diaz vs. Paul Daley

Posted: March 11, 2013 in Cool Stuff We Like
Tags: ,

diazdaleyMan I’m excited about UFC 158 this weekend. In fact, any fan of the welterweight division better be pumped for this one. Of course the main event is the long awaited grudge match between Georges St-Pierre and Nick Diaz that has been brewing for quite some time.

Just to whet my appetite, I re-watched one of my favorite Diaz fights. I actually consider Diaz vs. Paul Daley to be one of the best one-round fights in history. The only reason I’m not anointing it THE greatest is because there are several other one rounders that readers will surely throw out there (Barry/Kongo?) and will skewer my opinion rather than focusing on this great fight.

So give this one another look. The momentum shifts were amazing and the action was non-stop. When I saw it live, I stood the entire fight. The second, third and fourth times, it didn’t lose any of its drama. That’s how I judge a great fight. If I can watch it again and again and, despite knowing the outcome, still find it compelling, then that’s a great one.

Diaz vs. Daley is one of those.

Leave a Reply

