Weidman’s Ballsy plan: Push back Contract talks till he beats Silva

Posted: March 29, 2013 in Commentary/Opinion, Latest news, UFC Events
Tags:

WeidmanVIGMiddleweight contender Chris Weidman is one of the few people who doesn’t want to capitalize on his status as #1 contender. Instead, he’s willing to roll the dice and wait till he DEFEATS the reigning champ before cashing in.

Weidman was recently discussing the possibility of tearing up his old contract in favor of a brand new one reflecting his new lofty status. “I think we’re just going to keep the contract,” Weidman told MMA Junkie. “I’m definitely OK with making what I was making. I think I was making $24,000 (to show) and $24,000 (as a win bonus).”

$24/24 isn’t a huge sum of money when compared to many fighters at the highest level of the UFC. But Weidman doesn’t seem to mind. In fact, he’s thinking long term. “After I beat Anderson like I plan on doing, then obviously the contract will jump up more than if I was to rip up the contract now,” he explained. “I’m ready to put all my eggs in one basket and put my money where my mouth is.”

That’s quite a show of confidence for Weidman. He only has nine career fights on his résumé—that number is smaller than the number of consecutive title defenses Silva has (10); and not much larger than the total number of KO of the Night honors The Spider has captured (7). Still, Weidman’s willingness to put his money where his mouth is, is admirable.

He certainly has the skillset that many people think is the magic recipe (if there is one) for beating Silva. Chael Sonnen drew up the blueprint in his first fight with Silva. Can Weidman’s wrestling and athleticism give Silva a run for his money?

Leave a Reply

