Nick Diaz wants to return to UFC; no-showed UFC 162

Posted: July 8, 2013 in Latest news, Rumors
Tags:

Nick DiazNick Diaz has become so unpredictable that I’m starting to be able to predict exactly what he’s gonna do. It wasn’t too hard to foresee that Diaz’s “retirement” might be short lived. Now, less than four months after announcing he was done with the sport, he might be changing his mind, according to Dana White.

“He said he broke up with his girlfriend, wants to fight,” White relayed. I’m not exactly sure what his former girlfriend had to do with his desire to fight, but I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt. So what was White’s reaction to that? Not surprisingly, he was all for it.

“Nick Diaz is under contract with the UFC,” he said. “Whenever Nick Diaz wants a fight, I’m more than happy to get him a fight.” Still, no surprise. Diaz continues to be one of the most polarizing figures in the sport. And that means drawing power. So White would be unwise to close the door on Diaz, and he knows it.

Now here’s the funny part. Diaz placed a last minute call to Dana about coming to UFC 162. I’ll let White explain it.

“Nick Diaz called me the other night and said, ‘All the hotels are sold out in Las Vegas. I need a hotel room,'” White said. “I said, ‘No problem, kid. I got you.’ I got him a hotel room and got it all set up. And he never fucking showed up.”

And that’s the part of Diaz’s unpredictable nature that we should all be used to by now.

Leave a Reply

