Looks like ‘Jones/Gustafsson 2’ will have to wait; Glover is next

Posted: September 26, 2013 in Latest news
Tags:

glover-teixeiraGlover Teixeira can breathe a sigh of relief. It is being reported that he will in fact receive the title shot that was promised to him. Over the past several days, speculation was rising that Alexander Gustafsson would be granted an immediate rematch with champ Jon Jones, due to the competitiveness of their fight over the weekend.

Dana White targeted Super Bowl weekend for the Jones/Teixeira matchup and said that Gustafsson will likely fight another contender in his home country of Sweden. Jones, for one was insistent that fighting Teixeira next was the ideal plan. A plan that includes bashing “The Mauler” after he destroys Teixeira.

“I want to crush the record. I want to beat the record so bad it can never be broken. I’m going to fight Glover and I will answer all the critics about the Gustafsson fight. I will fight Gustafsson after I fight Glover. I won the fight but I look at it as a blemish on my record because some people think I didn’t. I promise you, he will be next.”

So it looks like fans will have to wait for the rematch. Many people are calling the UFC 165 bout one of the greatest fights in UFC history. If Jones manages to get past Teixeira, the hype surrounding Jones/Gus 2 should be incredible.

Leave a Reply

