Johny Hendricks’ handwraps were too thin to KO St-Pierre

Posted: November 26, 2013 in Commentary/Opinion, UFC Events
Tags: ,

handwrapsWe’ve been talking about the decision at UFC 167 non-stop since Georges St-Pierre was announced the winner. Johny Hendricks fans are outraged and are calling for an overhaul of the judging system. GSP fans are unapologetic and are saying things like “Hendricks tapped” and whatnot. With all that hubbub, we almost forgot to chat about this little gem.

Hendricks is partially blaming his hand wraps for not finishing GSP. You see, he’s claiming that he could only go 70 percent with his punches because the wraps were too thin. Had they been the normal thickness, he says GSP could’ve been staring at the inside of his eyelids.

Here’s what he said…

“What happened was he was wrapping them and I saw that they just weren’t as thick as they should have been. I know I hit hard. I know I can’t allow that to happen. But instead of speaking up, I just went with the flow. I didn’t want to cause any ripples. So it’s all my fault, but that’s why my hands were that bruised, because that padding wasn’t thick enough for them.”

“If I would have thrown, let’s say I threw at 100%, do I break my hand in the second round, or do I break it in the third? Or do I break it in the fourth? Or do I break it in the fifth?”

As controversial as this decision has been, I’m 100% sure, there will be a lot of discussion about this. It will be either a horrible excuse by a guy who can’t get over a fight that he obviously lost; OR yet another act of favoritism (and maybe even a conspiracy) when it comes to protecting UFC’s golden boy, GSP. Which side are you on?

Leave a Reply

