RAPID FIRE: A bunch of ridiculous questions with Invicta World Champ Barb Honchak

Posted: December 2, 2013 in Interviews
Tags:

Barb HonchakBarb Honchak is the reigning Invicta 125 pound champion and the top ranked female fighter in the world in her weight class. In just a few days, Barb will be defending that crown against Leslie Smith in the main event of Invicta FC 7. Since we’re counting down the final days of her preparation, we thought we’d lighten things up with a bunch of ridiculous questions we collectively call “Rapid Fire.” Thankfully, she wasn’t too offended by our lack of professionalism, and was a great sport about it.

What’s your favorite junk food when you aren’t cutting weight?

Ice cream…yeah for sure ice cream!

Favorite cartoon character when you were a kid?

Hmm, I’ve gotta go way back and I’m gonna say She-Ra.

What’s the nerdiest thing you do?

she-raWell I mean I’m a biologist by trade, so that’s pretty nerdy I think. When I started fighting I was working as a laboratory manager at Washington University.

Let’s say you’re about to fly off on a vacation. Would you rather sit on the plane between 2 big fat guys, or 2 really smelly guys?

Ohhhh, that’s a tough one. I’m gonna go with smelly guys. The olfactories will shut off after a while.

What’s your walk out song going to be?

You know I haven’t really decided. I have maybe five songs I’m thinking about, but I haven’t narrowed it down to one just yet. I’ve got a few that I really like, but none of them are perfect just yet.

So no Miley Cyrus?

Um no probably not! (laughs)

What’s your favorite breakfast cereal when you were a kid?

Lucky Charms is the first one that pops into my head.

Did you eat the marshmallows last?

(Laughs) Yes, of course. I think I even saw something where you can buy just the marshmallows now.

We saw an episode of TUF where one of the girls complained that another fighter stunk. Who’s the smelliest fighter you’ve ever fought or sparred with?

Oh gosh! Usually when I do have a smelly partner, it’s in grappling because those gi’s can get pretty rank. I can think of one guy back when I was in St. Louis—I can’t even think of his name—but he was a smoker and a drinker, and it came out of him whenever we grappled. But it’s usually a grappler and usually someone who’s had a gi on too long. (laughs)

If you were in a dark alley and needed a backup, is there a fighter you would you choose to have your back? Someone who’s legitimately a tough tough guy or girl no one would want to tangle with.

You know at the moment I’d have to say my current coach Junior Hernandez. I know he would totally have my back and he could handle just about anybody. And he does a little bit of bouncing on the side, so he’d be ready for anything; he’s been there and done it.

Most people believe that Ronda Rousey is the top fighter in the world at 135 pounds. Who’s the best at 125?

Barb Honchak!

catufcSpeaking of Ronda, who do you think will eventually take her title from her?

Well before Cat (Zingano) blew out her ACL, she was next in line to fight Ronda, and I think Cat has a very good chance of stopping Ronda. We’ve already seen what happened when Miesha and Ronda met, and I think we’re gonna see it play out about the same (this time). The next person in line after Miesha is Cat, and I expect Cat to be the first one to take it from her.

Who would you want to play you in a movie about your life?

Oh, hmmm…I’m really bad with names but I have a picture in my head. It’s Goldie Hawn’s daughter, and I think she’s adorable. Kate Hudson! I’d love Kate Hudson to play me.

Who’s your favorite super hero?

That’s a hard one. There’s so many good ones right now, like all the Marvel movies coming out, it’s always like ‘oh yeah, I forgot about that one!’ I think I’m going to have to go with Wonder Woman. It might seem kind of boring but she’s awesome.

You fight Leslie Smith this weekend. If you could book her in a fight with ANYONE in the world the night before (to soften her up) who would it be?

So I guess it’s who would I like to see her fight. You know, I guess I’m kind of being biased here about Cat, but they were supposed to fight a while back, so I’d want to put her against Cat the night before!

What TV show would you want to make a cameo appearance on?

I like Sons of Anarchy. I would love to make a cameo on Sons of Anarchy somehow.

When the new UFC video games out it looks like it will have females for the 1st time. Will you sit down and create a character for yourself?

DEFINTELY! Yeah, definitely! (laughs)

kimkardashianIf you could fight any celebrity—just because you don’t like them or want to teach them a lesson—who would it be?

There’s a lot of celebrities that get on my nerves. But probably one of the Kardashians. They’re just so in your face right now that it’s an easy answer. You just hear about them all the time; and you roll your eyes at them all the time.

Do you have any funny stories (maybe dating or something) where a guy didn’t know you could fight and said something really stupid or humiliating like he was some tough guy?

Well, people ask Tim (her husband) all the time if he can take me. That’s a pretty common question for him. He always answers, NO. The things that really stick out in my head as far as our relationship, is when we try to go do normal things and I have a big ol’ black eye or a cut. He really gets a lot of dirty looks from people. He handles it really well, but it kinda sucks. I feel really bad about it because he’s such a nice guy.

Lastly, give us a prediction for your fight with Leslie.

Oh yeah, I’m gonna win. That’s all we need to know. Yeah, I’m gonna win. Yeah.

Leave a Reply

