Roy Jones Jr. will be at UFC 168; White hints Boxing Match with Anderson Silva a possibility

Posted: December 9, 2013 in Commentary/Opinion, Rumors
Tags: ,

silvajonesIn case you didn’t know, Anderson Silva has a pretty big coming up later this month. The Spider will be trying to regain the belt he held for so long, by avenging his only loss in the UFC—ever—against Chris Weidman. But even with the rematch so close, many people are still talking about a boxing match between Silva and boxing legend Roy Jones Jr. And Dana White is one of them.

Both Silva and Jones have been bugging White to make it happen, and according to Jones, it will. But for some reason, Jones has said that Silva needs a win over Weidman to secure the fight. I’m not sure what that has to do with anything, but I’ll table that topic for now. What’s more interesting is that White seems to be considering it.

“These two drive me crazy. They drive me crazy,” White said. “First of all, Roy Jones Jr. is a longtime friend of mine. When I was a 19-year-old kid in the boxing business, Roy Jones was very good to me. So I’m in this position where I feel like Roy wants to fight him, he wants to fight Roy – I feel like I’m in this position to try to make both of these guys happy. But it drives me crazy. I would love Roy Jones Jr. to focus on his next opponent and Anderson to focus on his. We’ll talk about all this stuff. I know Roy’s coming to the fight – we’ll see what happens.”

So with Jones attending UFC 168, what are the odds on a Silva/Jones staredown center cage? Whether that happens or now remains to be seen, but I’m sure Jones will get plenty of face time on the pay per view broadcast, which will only add to the speculation.

Comments
  1. […] Roy Jones Jr. will be at UFC 168; White hints Boxing Match with Anderson Silva a possibility […]

Leave a Reply

