Bigfoot fails Drug Test; says it’s not his fault

Posted: December 18, 2013 in Commentary/Opinion, UFC Events
Tags: ,

bigfoothuntOne of the leading candidates for fight of the year just got a black eye. Antonio “Bigfoot” Silva was just nabbed for elevated testosterone levels on his post-fight drug test following his Fight Night 33 classic with Mark Hunt. Bigfoot will be suspended 9 months.

While being medically cleared for a TRT exemption, the levels still have to remain within the limits. Bigfoot’s levels did not fall within that range. Not long after this announcement, Silva denied any wrongdoing on his Facebook page.

Clarification: Months before my fight I looked for the UFC doctor Marcio Tannure in Brazil so I could start the hormonal replacement “TRT” which was authorized and recognized by a professional. I started the treatment and 2 weeks before my fight I did all the exams required by the UFC. My testosterone level continued to be low so I was recommended by the doctor to increase the dosage. Unfortunately my level increased too much and caused me to suspend. I only did what was recommended by someone trained who understands about the subject therefore it was not my mistake. I’m cool because I know that the mistake was not made by me,I never tried doing anything wrong for my fight.

In addition to the lengthy suspension, Bigfoot’s record will reflect a No Contest instead of the original ruling of a Draw. He also loses his $50,000 fight of the night bonus; which will be given to Hunt. Incidentally, the Draw will remain on Hunt’s official record.

Hunt’s response to the matter was humorous.

“Shit, I need to get on some of this shit. Fuck, I don’t know how these guys are doing this shit. I should get some of that shit, too. That’s news to me. I haven’t heard anything of it. I don’t know what to say, honestly. I don’t know what it is, but kudos to me for the bonus, eh?”

Leave a Reply

