Diego Brandao talks about missing weight, getting KOd & threatening to stab Poirier with a pen

Posted: January 6, 2014 in Commentary/Opinion
Tags:

stabpenDiego Brandao had a rough weekend at UFC 168. And by “rough,” I mean he looked unprofessional as hell at weigh-ins; took it in the shorts inside the cage; and was accused making of a pretty heinous threat by his opponent. Brandao addressed all of those.

Won’t he surely apologize for threatening to stab Dustin Poirier in the neck with a pen? And won’t he humbly accept the consequences for missing weight so badly—8 pounds? And lastly, won’t he give credit to his opponent for beating him fair and square? Err, no. That’s not how Brandao rolls. Here’s what he really had to say.

On threatening to stab Poirier before the fight: “He was there, bouncing at the weigh-ins, staring at me. I told him backstage ‘if you ever do that again, I’ll stab you with a pen.’ That’s what happened.”

On losing to Poirier: “When he got inside the cage I saw he was scared. He got lucky (to win).”

On missing weight by EIGHT freaking pounds: “A drunk man hit my car, and I ended up crashing in another car. I had to go to my lawyer. (The other driver) didn’t want to pay the costs to fix my car. I did my best, I was a warrior just to step inside that cage. Any other fighter would just run away, but I needed that.”

Translation…NOT MY FAULT. In his defense, what rational person wouldn’t stab a guy for staring at him? And aren’t most 1st round knockouts luck? And finally, every time I get in a car wreck, I start eating my weight in Christmas fudge too. So there; I just defended Diego Brandao for all three of his UFC 168 transgressions. Don’t you agree?

Leave a Reply

