Sara McMann responds to Matt Brown; Brown issues vague non-apology

Posted: January 10, 2014 in Commentary/Opinion, Latest news
Tags:

MattBrownYesterday we reported a story about Matt Brown’s ridiculous statement that the UFC women’s division would be better served fighting topless. I doubt I really have to go into too much more detail about what a stupid comment that is, especially considering how exciting the women have been so far, and the fact that Brown is quickly becoming known as a guy who says stupid shit.

Well, obviously some of the top women fighters in the world will take exception to those remarks. Sara McMann was the first to get cornered by media.

“I want to make it absolutely clear … I do not care if somebody wants to be a fan or not,” she said. “Don’t pay $60 then. Nobody’s taking their top off.”

She continued with one of my favorite types of verbal slams—the “who?” strategy. “I don’t even know him. Why would I give a crap what he thinks about my fight? You know what, Matt Brown fight in a Speedo.”

Nicely played by McMann. She didn’t go off on an angry, defensive tangent like scorned teenager. She gave a brief but direct statement about how stupid this guy must be and moved on.

For the record, Brown pulled his podcast down after he started getting exposed as a dumbass in the media. He also came out with a statement of “apology.” Of course, like many public apology statements, it was nothing more than a non-apology. But here’s his statement…

I have spoken with the UFC about the UFC Fighter Conduct Policy and what is required and expected of me as a professional athlete under the terms of my promotion agreement. The UFC has a policy of inclusion and respect for all people and I understand the importance of being more aware of my actions and words.

Again, that’s no apology. All he said was he’s required by the UFC to act in a certain way. No apology.

Back to McMann’s suggestion about Brown wearing a Speedo…please don’t I think Brian Ebersole would agree.

Comments
  1. […] Sara McMann responds to Matt Brown; Brown issues vague non-apology […]

Leave a Reply

