Cro Cop discusses falling out with Fedor Emelianenko

Posted: March 5, 2014 in Commentary/Opinion

fedor cro copMy fascination with MMA legend Mirko “Cro Cop” Filipovic continues…and I refuse to apologize for it. Yesterday we posted excerpts from Cro Cop’s interview on The MMA Hour regarding his disappointing UFC career which followed his historic Pride days. Today I wanted to revisit the interview. This time he discusses what seems to be a major falling out between Filipovic and peer, rival and fellow legend Fedor Emelianenko.

Fedor suggested Cro Cop should hang up his gloves following his most recent submission loss to Oleksiy Olyiynyk in Russia. Cro Cop didn’t take the advice as a simple opinion or recommendation; instead he took great offense to it. Here’s what he had to say about the great Fedor.

“I like Fedor and I respect him a lot, but it’s not his job, it’s not his concern to act like my mother and to give any kind of advice, especially to me. I think I’m old and I believe wise enough that I will know when it’s time to go. What happened to me in that fight, it could happen to anyone. Really, I don’t know why Fedor said it.

“Later on I heard that Fedor is saying this and that. I don’t think he should do it. Of course he has the right to give his opinion; he’s a legend of mixed martial arts. But I didn’t like his comment, to tell you the truth. I never gave a comment on his fights. Every loss of Fedor’s, I [felt] like it was my own.

“At the end of the day, we used to fight together in the PRIDE ring; so many times we shared a dressing room. I was fighting in his town and he didn’t show up for the press conference. If Fedor came to my hometown, I would find him a few days before, I would take him to lunch, dinner, whatever, shake hands to see him. And I saw him only in the ring. But that’s him. I think and feel differently.”

While at first I was saddened by the feud between two of my all-time favorites; but on second thought…Fedor vs. Cro Cop 2 anyone????

Leave a Reply

