Huh? Cung Le “grew up watching Wanderlei Silva?”

Posted: March 12, 2014 in Commentary/Opinion

Cung_LeChael Sonnen has openly discussed what the new TRT ban could do to his career. Frankly, it could end it, he says. And those comments didn’t sneak past Cung Le. Le, who’s on a 2-fight winning streak, wants to fill in for Sonnen against Wanderlei Silva…if Sonnen needs to drop out of the fight set for UFC Fight Night Brazil.

Le was defeated by Silva in his promotional debut at UFC 139. It was an entertaining fight with Wanderlei earning a vicious 2nd round TKO after some big knees and punches. Le wants a second chance.

“If Chael gets hurt, or decides that he’s not ready for the Wanderlei fight, I’ll throw in my hat,” he said on The MMA Hour. “I would love another shot. I have a lot of respect for him.  I grew up watching all of his fights in PRIDE. And to fight him, I feel like I didn’t fight a good fight and I know I can do a lot better.”

While I would be interested in seeing a rematch IF it became needed, I have to question le’s memory. Did the nearly 42-year old really “grow up” watching Silva’s Pride fights? Silva’s first fight in Pride was in 1999, and his most notable run was even a few years after that. Le was like 30 by that time. Meh.

Leave a Reply

