What was the best Walkout Song from UFC 171?

Posted: March 26, 2014 in Cool Stuff We Like

octagonMaybe it’s just me, but I always get pissed when I’m watching a PPV at a sports bar and I can’t hear the goddamn event. The volume is so low at these places it drives me insane every time. (Side note: since it happens literally EVERY event, shouldn’t

I be a little less outraged? Perhaps.)

Aside from the commentary, this disgraceful lack of volume means I usually miss out on the walkout music too. Such was the case for UFC 171 last weekend. So I did what everyone does—I Googled the shit out of it till I found a good listing of the walkout music for the event.

I’m a big fan of the later Johnny Cash stuff, like the one Carlos Condit used. His voice at that stage of his life was pretty haunting. And as much as I’m NOT a fan of Jake Shields, you can’t dislike “Seven Nation Army,” which is just one of the best songs ever. You like old school? Well, then maybe Rick Story’s “Back in Black” or Diego Sanchez’s “We Will Rock You” might be your speed.

Here’s what else I found…

Johny Hendricks: Bleu Edmondson “50 Dollars and a Flask of Crown” Southland (2008)
Robbie Lawler: Eminem “Beautiful” Relapse (2009)
Tyron Woodley: Thi’sl feat. Flame “I Ain’t Turning Back” Chronicles of An X-Hustler (2009)
Carlos Condit: Johnny Cash “Further On (Up the Road)” American V: A Hundred Highways (2006)
Myles Jury: Mac Miller “Donald Trump” Best Day Ever (2011)
Diego Sanchez: Queen “We Will Rock You” News of the World (1977)
Hector Lombard: Newsboys “Born Again” Born Again (2010)
Jake Shields: The White Stripes “Seven Nation Army” Elephant (2003)
Ovince St. Preux: Rick Ross “Hold Me Back” God Forgives, I Don’t (2012)
Nikita Krylov: Duane Eddy “Rebel Rouser” Have ‘Twangy’ Guitar Will Travel (1958)
Kelvin Gastelum: Vicente Fernandez “Los Mandados” A Pesar De Todo (1978)
Rick Story: AC/DC “Back in Black” Back in Black (1980)
Francisco Trevino: Dilated Peoples “You Can’t Hide, You Can’t Run” 20/20 (2006)
Justin Scoggins: Pharrell Williams “Happy” Despicable Me 2 Soundtrack (2013)
Sean Strickland: Johnny Cash “Ain’t No Grave” American VI: Ain’t No Grave (2010)
Bubba McDaniel: House of Pain “Jump Around” House of Pain (1992)
Robert Whiteford: Three 6 Mafia “It’s a Fight” Rocky Balboa: The Best of Rocky (2006)
Daniel Pineda: Randy Edelman & Trevor Jones “Promentory” The Last of the Mohicans Soundtrack (1992)

Leave a Reply

