John Dodson recalls Demetrious Johnson being “arrogant” and kind of a douche

Posted: April 4, 2014 in Commentary/Opinion
Tags: ,

1dodsonhsFlyweight contender John Dodson has a reputation for being one of the most likable and fun-loving guys around. Speaking from firsthand knowledge, I can attest to that generalization. So when the normally laid back Dodson says something about another fighter, I tend to believe his perspective. According to “The Magician,” champ Demetrious Johnson was kind of a douche. Here’s the story.

Immediately following their 5 round battle for the world title—which Johnson won by decision, in his toughest fight in the UFC—Dodson said he tried to bond with his opponent while waiting for the scorecards to be read, only to be rudely brushed off by Johnson.

“I was like, ‘Yo man, shoot, nice fight. Thanks for letting me fight you,’” Dodson said. “He goes, “Pssh, whatever. I know I won.’ I was like, ‘All right, cool.’

It’s possible having just fought 25 grueling minutes affected Johnson’s attitude; and Dodson doesn’t hold a grudge. But it certainly stuck with him. “He’s a little arrogant,” Dodson admitted.

Although he retold the story to MMAjunkie, he doesn’t dwell on the negative, or hold the run-in too close to him.

“For me, I want to be able to go fight and go home and chill,” he said. “I shouldn’t have to change up my whole lifestyle to hate one person. Because if you hate one person, that means they become the center of your universe, and why would I want Demetrious Johnson to be the center of my universe?”

Leave a Reply

